To help secure the future of the sport, New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Provincial Unions have today cancelled all provincial representative rugby tournaments including the 2020 Mitre 10 Heartland Championship. The cancellations include the Meads Cup and Lochore Cup (Heartland Championship), Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament, TECT National Sevens


NEW ZEALAND RUGBY UPDATE ON RUGBY IN NEW ZEALAND Following the New Zealand Government’s lifting of the coronavirus alert status to level 3, all rugby in New Zealand will be suspended for the foreseeable future. SANZAAR, New Zealand Rugby (NZR), New Zealand’s Super Rugby Clubs and the New Zealand Rugby Players Association

Canterbury confirm 2020 pre-season Ranfurly Shield matches

Canterbury Rugby has today announced two mandatory pre-season Ranfurly Shield challenges to be played in July 2020. Canterbury Rugby CEO Tony Smail confirmed the province had accepted challenges from Buller and North Otago. The first challenge against Buller will be played in Westport on Saturday 11th July, and Mr Smail said:

Francis Mining Buller team vs Wanganui {7/9/19}

Buller team for tomorrow’s match against Wanganui: 1. Jack Best 2. Mason Briant 3. Anthony Ellis 4. Jeff Lepa 5. Zach Walsh 6. Isei Lewaqai 7. Gabba De Kock 8. Daniel Hytongue 9. Andrew Stephens 10. James Lash 11. Pat Saukuru 12. Iliesa Ravudra 13. Tokohau Samuels 14. Alex Paterson 15. Mitieli Kaloudigibeci 16. Peter Foote 17. Jareth Mackay 18. Gene Simmiss 19. Willis Scott 20. Corey Jenkins 21. Olve Fuataga 22.

2019 Heartland Wider Training Squad

Please see below the wider training squad selected by Heartland selector/coach Gus Martyn. Heartland Wider Training Squad The following players have been selected in the Francis Mining Buller Heartland wider rugby training squad. Training is at George Craddock Park this Wednesday evening 19 June starting at 6:30pm. Zack Armstrong, Mason Briant, Siaosi Kafalava,