Friday, July 19


Year By Year , Our History ~ 2010 ~

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Buller Rugby Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series since 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin



2010 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1894– (affiliated NZRU 1894)
B.A.(Brian) Ahern
C.W.(Craig) Neill
C.M.(Craig) Scanlon
Main ground:
Victoria Square, Westport
Cardinal and Blue

Buller were surprise finalists for the Lochore Cup but deservedly earned the right to host the final at Westport after an exciting win over Horowhenua Kapiti in the semi-final.

What the team lacked in individual skill was made for with commitment. It was remarkable that 11 of the players started in every game and a further two missed just one game.

The understanding between the players became its biggest asset. Beating arch-rivals West Coast to regain the Rundle Cup secured Buller a semi-final position.

In perfect playing conditions the Lochore Cup final at Victoria Square will for many years remain a historic event for Buller rugby. Wairarapa Bush took away the Cup but the event was a boost for local rugby.

Matthew Bonisch was enterprising at fullback and a good defender. Sam Marris and Joseph Bradley were two eager wings while at centre Penijamini Nabainivalu was alert to any gaps in the defence. The veteran Michael Mumm was solid in midfield. Inside Mumm was loan player Brad Mackenzie and Andrew Stephens was the halfback and goalkicker.

Bradley and Scott Neighbours were the Origin players used by the union.

Number eight Phil Rossiter was a fine leader and effective forward. Flanker Luke Brownlee played his one hundredth successive game for the union – a grand stalwart of Buller rugby.

Nelson player James Foster was at lock with Logan Mundy. The experienced Phil Beveridge was joined in the front row by Stephen Crackett and hooker Logan Balsom.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: A.P.Stephens

2010 Match Record: Played 10; Won 4 ; Lost 6
Points : For 155 ; Against 222

2010 Fixtures & Results

Sat 28 Aug 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship Wairarapa Bush 16 - 23
Sat 04 Sep 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship North Otago 44 - 20
Sat 11 Sep 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship East Coast 07 - 18
Sat 18 Sep 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship Mid Canterbury 12 - 32
Sat 25 Sep 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship Poverty Bay 21 - 13
Sat 02 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship Horowhenua Kapiti 11 - 23
Sat 09 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship King Country 44 - 05
Sat 16 Oct 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship/Rundle Cup West Coast 20 - 11
Sat 23 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship/Lochore Cup Semi Final Horowhenua Kapiti 14 - 19
Sat 30 Oct 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship/Lochore Cup Final Wairarapa Bush 09 - 15


    Position PL
Andrew Craig Duncan Scrumhalf 5
Andrew Paul Stephens Scrumhalf 10
Blair Stewart McIlroy Flanker 9
Placeholder Brad William Mackenzie First Five 10
Craig Gerard Adams Fullback, Winger 6
Glen Anthony Duncan Hooker, Prop 3
Placeholder Graham Francis Kimber Lock 6
Placeholder James William Foster Lock 10
Placeholder Joseph Paul Bradley Winger 8
Placeholder Lee Martin Nelmes Flanker, No. 8 1
Placeholder Logan James Balsom Hooker 10
Logan Matthew Mundy Lock, Prop 10
Luke George Brownlee Flanker 10
Matthew Paul Bonisch Fullback 9
Placeholder Michael Peter Mumm Centre 10
Penijamini Nabainivalu Centre 10
Philip.J.’Phil’ Beveridge Hooker, Prop 10
Philip John Rossiter Flanker 10
Placeholder Ricki M.A Jacobs First Five 4
Placeholder Rory.J.T. Kennedy Flanker 6
Placeholder Samuel Allan 'Sam' Marris Winger 10
Placeholder Scott Beckinsale Winger, Scrumhalf 3
Scott William Neighbours Winger 2
Simon Abel Flanker 1
Stephen Murray Lowe Lock 9
Stephen Robert Crackett Hooker, Prop 10

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.