Saturday, July 13


Year By Year , Our History ~ 2013 ~

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Buller Rugby Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series since 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin



2013 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1894– (affiliated NZRU 1894)
E.C.(Erik) Westergaard
B.A.(Brian) Ahern
C.W.(Craig) Neill
C.M.(Craig) Scanlon
Main ground:
Victoria Square, Westport
Cardinal and Blue

For the second year in a row Buller met South Canterbury in the Lochore Cup final, but was unable to repeat last year’s victory at Westport, this time going down 10-17 at Timaru. In the round robin the Union had a 50/50 record and finished seventh, which meant a semi-final away to Wanganui. Buller then surprised many with an excellent 40-30 win in their best performance of the season, having led 28-0 after just 26 minutes.

The strength of the team was the backline which scored 20 of the 25 tries. William Saukuru was a talented fullback, and with wings Mitieli Kaloudigibeci and Iliesa Ravudra were a threatening back three. The attacking thrust was in midfield where Mike Schmidt-Lealava’a was a class centre in partnership with the pacy Penijamini Nabainivalu. Both were equal top try-scorers with Ravudra. Mathew Golding started as first five but then made way for Jesse Elley, and at halfback ever present Andrew Stephens passed 50 games, was an accurate goalkicker, and again deserved his selection in the NZ Heartland team

The forward pack, on the smaller side, was noticeably outplayed in the Lochore Cup final. Nevertheless, the two centurions, flanker Luke Brownlee and tight-head prop Phil Beveridge, remained proven performers, while Lee Nelmes was a key player at number eight. All three were ever present. The other loose forward Blair Mcllroy had a high work rate. Glen Duncan finished as starting hooker supplanting Iliesa Namua. Five players appeared at lock with Paul Clarkson and Logan Mundy (starting at prop) being the preferred combination for the second half of the campaign.

Of the 26 players used, seven were new, one of whom, Sauqaqa, had previously played for Counties-Manukau in 2005. Nine players re-appeared after absence — Nelmes, the two Mcllroys, Mundy and Duncan after a year gap, while Abel (2010), Kaloudigibeci (2009), Clarkson (2008) and Simmiss (2007) had last appeared earlier than that. A loss was last year’s record points scorer Marty Banks who had gone to Tasman.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: A.P.Stephens

2013 Match Record: Played 10; Won 5 ; Lost 5
Points : For 197 ; Against 196

2013 Fixtures & Results

Sat 24 Aug 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship/Rundle Cup West Coast 23 - 17
Sat 31 Aug 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship Whanganui 15 - 11
Sat 07 Sep 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship Thames Valley 23 - 18
Sat 14 Sep 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship East Coast 28 - 12
Sat 21 Sep 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship Horowhenua Kapiti 15 - 19
Sat 28 Sep 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship Wairarapa Bush 03 - 13
Sat 05 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship Poverty Bay 21 - 34
Sat 12 Oct 5:00 pm H Heartland Championship Mid Canterbury 13 - 31
Sat 19 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship/Lochore Cup Semi Final Whanganui 30 - 40
Sun 27 Oct 5:00 pm A Heartland Championship/Lochore Cup Final South Canterbury 17 - 10


    Position PL
Andrew Paul Stephens Scrumhalf 10
Blair Stewart McIlroy Flanker 9
Placeholder Gene Simmiss Flanker, No. 8 9
Glen Anthony Duncan Hooker, Prop 9
Iliesa Tora Winger 10
Placeholder Isei Nagusu T. Lewaqai Lock, No. 8 10
Placeholder Jareth J.J.I. McKay Hooker/Prop 0
Jesse Morgan Elley First Five, Fullback 10
Placeholder Lee Martin Nelmes Flanker, No. 8 10
Placeholder lliasa Leca Namua Hooker 10
Logan Matthew Mundy Lock, Prop 10
Luke George Brownlee Flanker 10
Placeholder Mathew John Golding First Five 9
Placeholder Michael Sharlom Lealava’a Centre 10
Placeholder Mitieli Kaloudigibeci Winger 8
Paul Charles Clarkson Flanker, Lock, Winger 10
Penijamini Nabainivalu Centre 10
Philip.J.’Phil’ Beveridge Hooker, Prop 10
Placeholder Reyne Volavola Lock 5
Placeholder Samuel Allan 'Sam' Marris Winger 7
Placeholder Scott John McIlroy Hooker, Prop 7
Scott William Neighbours Winger 6
Simon Abel Flanker 7
Stefano Tuidrodroa Sauqaqa Centre 2
Stephen Murray Lowe Lock 1
Placeholder William Ross Saukuru Centre, Fullback 8

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.